Dmitry Karasyuk's author's project

Philatelia.Net / The literature / Countries /

The directory Countries



Azores islands (1991 pop. 241,592), 905 sq mi (2,344 sq km), in the Atlantic Ocean, c.900 mi (1,448 km) W of mainland Portugal. Administratively an autonomous region of Portugal, they are divided into three districts named after their capitals: Ponta Delgada (on São Miguel), Angra do Heroísmo (on Terceira), and Horta (on Faial). The nine main islands are São Miguel (the largest) and Santa Maria in the southeast; Terceira, Pico, Faial, São Jorge, and Graciosa in the center; and Flores and Corvo in the northwest. Ponta Delgada is the largest city. The fertile soil yields many crops and supports vineyards. The islands are also a resort area, although there is volcanic activity. The United States maintains a NATO air base in the islands.

1898, Da Gama, Camoes and Sao Gabriel (flagship)

2003-2020 Dmitry Karasyuk. Idea, preparation, drawing up
  "Web" Rambler's Top100     24 ,   24