Dmitry Karasyuk's author's project

Philatelia.Net / The literature / Plots /

The directory Plots

Bellow Saul

Bellow Saul (19152005)

American novelist, b. Lachine, Que., as Solomon Bellow, grad. Northwestern Univ., 1937. Born of Russian-Jewish parents, he grew up in the slums of Montreal and Chicago. His fiction features uniquely telling characterizations and is frequently darkly comic. His novels typically deal with large philosophical issues: the search for meaning, the conflicts between moral anomie and the quest for a personal ethic, and the tensions between the imaginative individual and a sometimes indifferent, sometimes entangling world. One of the most distinguished novelists of the mid-20th cent., he won the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1976. His novels include Dangling Man (1944), The Adventures of Augie March (1953; National Book Award), Seize the Day (1956), Henderson the Rain King (1959), Herzog (1964; National Book Award), Mr. Sammlers Planet (1970; National Book Award), Humboldts Gift (1975; Pulitzer Prize), The Deans December (1982), and Ravelstein (2000). He also published four books of stories, Mosbys Memoirs (1968), Him with His Foot in His Mouth (1984), Something to Remember Me By (1991), and Collected Stories (2001); a novella, The Actual (1997); a memoir, To Jerusalem and Back (1976); a play, The Last Analysis (1964); and an essay collection, It All Adds Up (1994). Bellow taught at a number of universities, including Northwestern Univ., the Univ. of Chicago, and Boston Univ.

Palau, 2001, Saul Bellow

Paraguay, 1977, Medal of Nobel prize of Literature


2003-2024 Dmitry Karasyuk. Idea, preparation, drawing up
  "Web" Rambler's Top100     24 ,   24