Dmitry Karasyuk's author's project

Philatelia.Net / The literature / Plots /

The directory Plots

O'Neill Eugene

O'Neill Eugene (18881953)

American dramatist, b. New York City. He is widely acknowledged as Americas greatest playwright. ONeills father was James ONeill, a popular actor noted for his portrayal of the Count of Monte Cristo. Young ONeill, his mother, and his older brother lived an unsettled life traveling with James on tour. The tortured relationships in his family haunted ONeill all his life and are reflected in many of his plays. From boarding school he entered Princeton in 1906 but remained there only a year. During the next few years he traveled widely and held a variety of jobs, acquiring experience that familiarized him with the life of sailors, stevedores, and the outcasts who populate many of his plays.

ONeill was stricken with tuberculosis in 1912 and spent six months in a sanatorium, where he decided to become a playwright. In the next two years he wrote 13 plays. He studied with George Pierce Baker at Harvard (191415) and in the summer of the following year began his association with the Provincetown Players, a theatrical group that produced many of his one-act plays.

ONeills first full-length play to be produced was Beyond the Horizon (1920; Pulitzer Prize), a grim domestic drama set in New England. After several ambitious failures, ONeills first great play, Desire under the Elms (1924), was produced; set in 19th-century New England, it dramatizes the impassioned battle for dominance between a hard, puritanical father and his sensitive son. ONeills next important work, The Great God Brown (1926), is a complicated, symbolic play about a modern mans futile struggle to identify himself with nature. Strange Interlude (1928; Pulitzer Prize), a nine-act drama, is a Freudian character study of an emotionally sterile woman, whose frequent asides give expression to her deeper thoughts and feelings. His other plays of the period include Marco Millions (1928), Lazarus Laughed (1928), and Dynamo (1929).

In 1931 ONeills great trilogy Mourning Becomes Electra was produced. Set in postCivil War New England, it is a retelling of the ancient Greek myth surrounding the murder of Agamemnon. After Days Without End (1934), no new ONeill play was performed until The Iceman Cometh (1946). Considered by many critics his greatest work, it looks at a group of drunken outcasts who are stripped of their illusions by a misguided, guilt-ridden savior. In 1936 ONeill was awarded the Nobel Prize in literature. A Moon for the Misbegotten (1947), about the frustrated love between an alcoholic and a farm woman, was not well received, but a revival of the play in 1973 was successful.

Near the end of his life ONeill renounced his daughter Oona when, at 18, she married the actor Charlie Chaplin, a man her fathers age; ONeill himself contracted a crippling disease that made him unable to write. At his death ONeill left several important plays in manuscript, including the autobiographical masterpiece, Long Days Journey into Night (produced 1956; Pulitzer Prize), and two parts of an unfinished cycle of plays using American history as a backgroundA Touch of the Poet (first U.S. production, 1958) and More Stately Mansions (first U.S. production, 1967).

Maldives, 1995, Eugene O'Neil

Paraguay, 1977, Medal of Nobel prize of Literature

USA, 1967/1973, Eugene O'Neill

USA, Eugene O'Neill National Historic Site

Advertising: .

2003-2024 Dmitry Karasyuk. Idea, preparation, drawing up
  "Web" Rambler's Top100     24 ,   24